Dante’s PURGATORY, Canto 9: SEVEN P’S


Engraver: Auguste Doré




Dante must heal wounds

Peccatum: Latin for “sin”

Seven deadly sins


NOTE: An angel allows Dante to pass through St. Peter’s Gate into Purgatory Proper, but first the angel carves seven P’s into Dante’s forehead. As Dante climbs the seven stories of the mountain, he will heal one of these wounds. Each P represents one of the seven deadly sins: pride, envy, wrath, sloth, avariciousness and prodigality (greed), gluttony, and lust.





This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s